Tomato Overload

Wash, chop, bag, freeze. Wash, chop, bag, freeze. Over and over since July. I have lost count of how many buckets of cherry tomatoes (and beefsteak-style tomatoes) I’ve brought in through August and September. I have no idea how many hours I’ve spent boiling, peeling, roasting, chopping, bagging and freezing this garden gold. What I do know, for the first time, is how rewarding it is to have neat piles of bagged tomatoes in the freezer. I know how good spaghetti with fresh tomato sauce is. Best of all I know how incredibly delicious homemade bruschetta is; especially with some home grown basil thrown in. SO good!

I am by no means a chef, foodie or a kitchen guru but here’s what I’ve done to put together bags of bruschetta that will keep us going through the winter.

 

Wash and 1/4 cherry tomatoes

Add in diced onions, minced garlic and chopped fresh basil

Pour in olive oil and red wine vinegar  (the amount depends on how many tomatoes you have but it would be comparable to making an oil and vinaigrette dressing for salad.)

Add salt & pepper to taste and mix well

 

So easy, so yummy. I’ve had it with tuna salad, egg salad and as the star on toast with some feta cheese. Despite my complaints about the work involved and the messy appearance of my garden, I know I’ll be planting them again next year. Can’t wait!

Coming to the end of a full season.

Leave a Reply

