Poetry by my 8-year-old = Best Parenting Moment.

Happy Belated Canada Day!

We’ve been super busy wrapping up the school year and prepping for a busy summer. We celebrated the end of school and warmed up for summer fun with a trip to what we call “the rock beach” (rather than “the sand beach”) to see if anything fun had washed ashore. My daughter is now obsessed with beach glass which gives her something new to collect – yay – this summer.

In the midst of our rock hunt my son asked if we could go home and if he could borrow my computer so he could print something. I asked what he wanted to print and he informed me that it was a secret – a year-end gift for his Dad and I.  Can’t argue with that so we rounded up the last of our newfound rocks, rinsed off our feet and headed home.

Once home he bolted for the office while my daughter and I headed for the basement to relax in the coolest place in the house. About 45 minutes later, he came down the stairs with a rolled up sheet of paper and proceeded to dig through the ribbon supply to tie a pretty little bow around his present. He said I couldn’t see it until Dad got home. It almost killed him to wait the hour until Dad got home – he was dying to give it to me! He did it though and after a brief hunt for a small box to fit the other half of the gift – he handed us our gift. We opened the box and found a special rock he found at the beach and unrolled the paper to find a this poem written in fancy script:

You’ve known me,

For eight years,

And my sister for more than four,

Don’t go away,

Cause’ this poem has more…

 

For weather we’ve lost our hats,

Or our wooly mitts,

You’ve always had a solution,

And don’t you forget it.

 

Celebrating another fantastic year.

Thank you, Mom and Dad.

My husband and I stared at each other in disbelief – we couldn’t believe our 8-year-old had come up with this beautiful poem all on his own. That was the clincher; we’ve decided we’ll keep him.

Cooperation among siblings – dare I dream?

Tiniest rock ever!

Leave a Reply

