Struggles vs Strides – who will win?

To say that I’ve been struggling lately would be a pretty significant understatement. I know we all struggle at times but there are some days and weeks (lets be honest – there are some years) when I feel like I never stop swimming against the tide.

At the beginning of 2012, I set a challenge for myself to lead the life I want to live – not the one I feel forced to live. My ideal life includes (among other things) lots of quality time with my family, a health-conscious lifestyle, a career path that inspires me, time to pursue personal interests and the ability to have a positive impact on my community. I figured if I was going to challenge myself to make changes by my 40th birthday, I might as well change my entire life – right? The good news is that I’ve made some strides towards my goals and I’m starting to feel like I will achieve them. I am positive I’ll get there. At least, I was until the struggles started to take over.

I’m struggling to find the right path, the right contact and the perfect timing. Add those struggles to the daily efforts to budget, shop, clean, cook, schedule, exercise, teach and play and my brain starts to overload. But wait, there’s more. As of this afternoon I am struggling with back pain and – wait for it – head lice. I know, there is nothing life threatening happening here but sometimes all I want to do is scream, “Are you kidding me? I can’t come up with answers to ALL of these things!”

So, tonight I thought I’d try a different tactic to cope with everything. I know that positive mantras can sometimes be hokey and a bit cliché but I found some on Etsy that are a little different and they might just get me through this hurdle. I hope they help you too.

©A.W.Photography

©J&ETypography

©JooJoo

©IntricateChaos

Leave a Reply

