Clearing the Air

March Break is coming to a close. It’s been a busy week filled with great weather, sick kids, bike riding and some serious smell issues. That’s one crazy roller coaster of good and bad, isn’t it? We got through the sick, we loved the riding bikes in the great weather and I found a great idea to deal with the smell.

I know you’re dying to know what smell but all I’m going to say is that it’s a combination of health issues and not enough time to clean the guinea pig cage. I’ll let your imaginations fill in the blanks. It’s been unseasonably warm here so I could open the windows for a bit while we were home but we weren’t home much near the end of the week. I also won’t use the artificially (aka – chemically) scented air sprays or those super strong plug-in things. Even worse are those devices that spray you with a fake flower smell when you walk into a room; really, does air freshener need to be motion sensitive?? My sinuses just can’t take it. I was resigned to living with the smell for a while but then in one of my walkabouts through cyber-space I came across this link. First of all, the name of the site – “The Complete Guide to Imperfect Homemaking” – fits me so perfectly it’s crazy. Second, I love the simplicity of the air freshener, just baking soda and lavender essential oil. How awesome is that – no chemicals required! Word of warning though, please don’t use too many drops of oil. I had to go out and buy more baking soda because I accidentally overdid it. Start with two or three drops – it doesn’t seem like a lot but it’s better to gauge what your family can handle so you don’t have to hear the gagging and “oh Mom – that’s disgusting” comments that I got with the first batch! Don’t worry, it’s all good with some extra baking soda.

I hope those of you who had March Break this week had a fantastic one. If you were lucky enough to get the weather we had here I’m sure it helped the enjoyment factor. But if, by chance, you had a sick kid and a couple of stinky guinea pigs (that’s not just me, right?) or you just need to clear the air – you should try these air fresheners. They really do work and come with a lot less environmental guilt. Win/win!

Leave a Reply

