Another Sewing Experiment

Do you ever get an idea in your head that you just can’t shake? It might be brilliant, it could be crazy – either way, it won’t go away. This little experiment was one of those unshakeable ideas.

My stroke of genius (or crazy plan, I’ll let you decide) was inspired by this link from Inner Child Fun for making reusable sandwich wraps. I read this a long time ago and it stayed (miraculously) in my head. I wanted to try it but I already had some reusable sandwich wraps that I bought online so it wasn’t high on my “must do it now” list. However, I did like the idea of reusing cereal bag liners and wondered if I could come up with something else I needed right away – maybe something to hold goldfish crackers, trail mix or popcorn? I had a bunch of scrap material from cutting up PJ pants for an earlier experiment along with some cereal bag liners and, most importantly, a crazy idea. It just took a quick trip to the store to get a $1 zipper and I came up with this:

 

 

I should say that this is the first time I’ve tried to sew a zipper of any kind. It turned out okay considering it was my first attempt – yay me! (It’s okay to congratulate yourself publicly, isn’t it??)

My daughter is so happy with her new snack pouch and uses it every day – at school and at the babysitter. I’m happy because not only did it take me less than an hour (who doesn’t love quick, gratifying projects?) but I was able to repurpose old PJ pants and save a cereal bag liner from the recycling bin. Win/win – don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

